5maindishes

I’m suspicious of some of the recipes I see on pinterest.  They always look really yummy, but that doesn’t mean that they’ll also taste good!  I like to try at least one new recipe every week, and quite often they’re from blogs I found via pinterest.  Sometimes they don’t turn out at all (I’m lookin’ at you, nasty “one pot mac and cheese”), but sometimes they REALLY turn out!  I’ve collected five of my favourite recipe finds that after the first attempt became instant keepers!  Both Sam and I loved them, and get the seal of approval.  Give them a try sometime!

Cream Cheese and Bacon Chicken Rolls
16,531 pins
by The Love Nerds

Image

  • When you cook the bacon, first rinse with cold water then lay flat on a pan lined with aluminum foil. Put in a cold oven, turn it to 400F, then leave for 17 minutes (but check on it often for the last few minutes!). Way better than frying it!
  • Might I also suggest using more bacon than it calls for?
  • You can just sprinkle breadcrumbs instead of doing the cornflake coating, but the cornflake coating is worth the extra work if you have time for it!
  • I added 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese to the cream cheese mixture, which gave it a nice extra somethin’ somethin’!

Coconut Chicken with Warm Honey Mustard Vinaigrette
68,899 pins
by Skinny Taste

Image

  • This chicken is fantastic in salad!  I like it with romaine, cucumber, pineapple, mandarin oranges, and almonds.  For a dressing I love this poppyseed one from Our Best Bites.
  • I like to use extra coconut/less bread crumbs to make the coconut flavour more pronounced.
  • Watch this carefully in the oven. If it’s in too long the coconut will burn quickly!
  • If you want some extra of that tasty breading, cut up the chicken before breading it. More surface area for coconut goodness!
  • I’m way more likely to have chicken breast on hand than tenderloins… It works just fine!

Slow Cooker Coconut Curry Chicken
121 pins (way underrated!)
by 71 Toes

2014-01-22 misc 0443

  • My favourite restaurant is Bombay House in Provo, Utah.  This recipe is the very best for holding me over until I can get back there :) HIGHLY recommend this recipe.  It totally deserves more pins.
  • When you use a slow cooker, the flavour is much, much milder.  I actually prefer to make it on the stovetop, cooking just until hot! You get a stronger flavour this way!
  • Here’s a naan recipe you can try.  I still need to find one that compares to the BH garlic naan, though!

Mongolian Beef
32,984 pins
by Blog Chef

Image

  • Deep fried foods have a bad reputation for being greasy, but did you know that with the right technique, this doesn’t have to be the case?  If you keep the oil at the right temperature (325-372F), cook it in small batches, and place on a paper towel right when you take it out of the pot, your food will contain next to no extra oil.
  • If you don’t want to deep fry, you can just pan-fry this recipe.
  • If you don’t want to do the breading, just stir-frying the meat and then adding the sauce is still really good!
  • Try it with chicken!

Spicy Chicken Enchilada Soup
4,234 pins
by The Girl Who Ate Everything

Image

  • I like smaller bits of meat, so I use shredded chicken rather than chopped up pieces. If you plan your meals to include similar ingredients that you can prepare ahead of time (such as cooked, shredded chicken) it will really cut down on prep time.
  • I always have a ton of cans of plain diced tomatoes on hand rather than the chile ones, so I often just use those instead and add some hot sauce.
  • You don’t have to add sour cream and cheese.  It’s tasty without it, too!

Let me know if you try any of these (which you really should) and tell me how it went!
Do you have any other must-try main dish recipes?

