Last weekend was pretty eventful!  On Thursday night I went to a meet and greet/book reading with the authors of Run Like a Mother and Train Like a Mother.  They also have a pretty great website/podcast/facebook page.

2014-09-25 20.29.29

It was held in a Crossfit gym, so Eleanor had a lot of room to roam around.

2014-09-30 18.53.49

 

There was a great surprise waiting at home– Sam’s parents and sister had come for a surprise visit!  We had no idea they were coming!  It was great seeing them.  It had been a while!

 

2014-09-26 12.42.33

 

Now, I am no food photographer, so this picture probably just looks gross.  But seriously, if you want to have amaaaazing pizza, go to The Flying Goat in Spokane.  The Dalton (below) is our favourite. It has honey apple BBQ, pulled pork, carmelized onion, and coleslaw!  It’s amazing.

 

 

 

2014-09-30 17.47.47  IMG_2390 IMG_2392

Next month I’m doing a full marathon, and since my training schedule called for a long run on Saturday anyway, I decided to sign up for the Happy Girls Run Spokane half marathon.  It was a spur of the moment decision, but I figured I had might as well get to do my long run on a cool course with water stations ;)

It was a difficult course!  Half of it was technical trail (dirt or very rocky) and it had some brutal hills.  But it was very pretty, and a really fun run!

Let’s keep in mind that the next two pictures were after I just ran ;)  This is Dimity and Sarah, the book authors I mentioned.

 

 

 

 

IMG_2399 IMG_2400

 

Fellow mother runners, these books are fantastic!   On Amazon they’re less than $5 used! I had felt kind of alone in my “demographic” of being a long distance runner and new mom, but these ladies GET IT!  They understand why it’s important for moms to run, and offer wonderful insight and inspiration to help get me out there. They’re also hilarious.  Check them out!